Left Behind

clouds3.jpg

Where are you now?
Do you remember me?
Are you in pain?
Do you still know the memories we shared?
How did this happen?
Did you leave too soon?
Everything seemed so sudden for me.   One day you were here checking on me and fixing my car.   Then I called to see how you both were doing and you had a stomach ache.   I insisted you go see the doctor.

Looking back I might not have if I would have known it would be our last phone conversation together.

Day after day in the hospital you faded more and more.   I wished and prayed you would walk out and be back to normal.   I could not say good-bye because I didn’t want you to go.

The phone startled me at 4 AM.   Finally at 7 AM what they had said hit me.

I waited the whole day watching out the window, hoping you would pull in my driveway on one of your weekly visits.   Holding the phone in my hand, waiting for your voice to say, “Hello beautiful, how are you today?”   You still have not come.   I now try to keep my curtains closed, mainly so I won’t obsess.

Even now weeks later I can’t think of you without crying hysterically.   I drove from my home to Altoona Wal-Mart which takes me past the cemetery where you are buried and the apartment where you lived.   I could not breathe or function for nearly an hour I sat in the car in the parking lot.   I just don’t understand why you?   Why now?

My car broke down the other day and I first thought of you, until the split moment came and I realized youweren’t there anymore.   I was very grateful for who did come.

I will forever cherish your memory and always miss and love you.                                       ~ April 27, 2007 ~

~ by skeys1981 on April 27, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
